The British School of Bangkok uses the 2008 EYFS document as the main curriculum. The document breaks down all of the learning the children complete into goals. Each classroom displays the Early Years Foundation Stage Principles and it is from these principles along with the mission statement and goals that the teachers base their teaching on.

The principles are put into four themes and guide how we teach the children:

A Unique Child – every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships – children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/ or a key person.
Enabling Environments – the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
Learning and Development – children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.
After these principles the children’s learning is split into 6 areas:
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Communication, Language and Literacy
Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
Knowledge and Understanding of the World
Physical Development
Creative Development
Within each of these areas, teachers will spend a fairly balanced amount of time on each. During all of your child’s learning, your child is continually being assessed against standards within the document which means that your class teacher always knows exactly at what point your child’s learning is at and just as importantly, what the next area for them to develop will be.
As the children progress through the EYFS years they will become more focussed, more attentive and be able to apply their concentration for longer periods until in the Reception year group, the children are able to maintain concentration for a whole lesson that could last up to an hour.